Before becoming licensed I attended a meeting in which several currently licensed providers spoke to us about their profession. In Hennepin County You must attend an Orientation Meeting in order to get an application for child care licensing. (Applications are not mailed out.) This is also where I obtained my copy of the licensing rules. The rules are 29 pages long. They go into great detail regarding every aspect of caring for children. I was also given an application packet, and additional information about insurance, food program sponsors, and vendors. For more information regarding the orientation meeting click here.
After reviewing my application several weeks later, a home visit was scheduled. My licensing worker walked through my entire home, made notes of the areas that needed to be improved, changed or rearranged. Every room in which the children would be had to be childproofed. If children were not allowed into the room it had to be locked. Plants had to be moved if they were toxic. Cleaners had to be moved as well. Gates were installed on stairways. Everything was inspected. The fire department also did a walk through.
The license is good for two years, and then it's up for renewal. A brief application, and a somewhat lengthy questionnaire needs to be filled in. Another walk through is scheduled, a short interview, then on with your day. Nothing too painful.
There are several License Types for a provider to choose from. Find the one that matches the services you plan to provide.
The State of Minnesota requires someone to have a family child care license if
People who want to provide child care in Minnesota must have a License from the Department of Human Services. It is a misdemeanor to provide child care without a License. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, there are two exceptions to this:
1. You may care for your relativesí children (includes grandchildren, nieces, nephews,....
2. You may provide unlicensed child care for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12 month period.This info regarding Legally Unlicensed care was written up years ago. I tried to find this information on Hennepin County's website, but it's no longer there. Don't quote me on the above information.
Distribution Restrictions for License Type: View Printer Friendly Page
Before going into the description of each different license type first you will need to know of the age categories for each child. The license holder's children under age 11 must be counted in the total number of children on the license. These age categories are determined by Hennepin County.
Specialized Infant/Toddler care considers a toddler to be 12 to 30 months
Prior to Licensing:
16 hours of training in child-related first aid and CPR which must be completed prior to the date of initial licensure.
Providers are required to complete 16 hours of training per year, after the initial year of receiving their license.
Complete requirements are detailed in the Hennepin County Rule 2: Training
View the recommended Shaken Baby Videos from Hennepin County's Site:SUID Video The Department of Human Services has approved the following series of videos to meet the SUID component when individuals are not receiving face-to-face, classroom, or online SUID training. All videos must be viewed to meet the SUID training requirement.
Please Note: The videos below include portrayals of infant sleep environments in private, non-licensed, homes that are not subject to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.1435. Licensed child care providers must comply with statutory safe sleep requirements when sleeping infants including nothing in the crib except for an infantís pacifier. In addition, attachments or modifications to the crib are prohibited.1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNWBSZZm3no&list=UUJDcgrMl0B2Og4ZdeOOrnFA&feature=c4-overview Produced by Hennepin County Produced by Hennepin County (4:17)
2. http://vimeo.com/51317716 Produced by Eastern Virginia Medical School (5:50)
3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0YshwsmZUc Produced by Dakota County (6:28)
AHT Video The Department of Human Services has approved the following series of videos to meet the AHT component when license holders are not receiving face-to-face, classroom, or online AHT training. All videos must be viewed to meet the AHT training requirement.
1. http://ctf4kids.org/2011/10/new-educational-videos-released-on-shaken-baby-and-safe-sleep-awareness/ Never Shake (7:48)
2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THhFoYk7U40 The Doctors (1:48)
3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_t9vH6tqwxg&feature=player_embedded Forever Shaken (33:17)
Last Update: 1/27/2017
copywrite ©2017 www.inhomechildcare.lil-lambs.info